27 September 2026 · Kenilworth Vibes editorial team · 5 min read · Sources checked
Kenilworth’s TGJones closes a year after WHSmith rebrand
Kenilworth’s TGJones closed on 26 September 2026, just over a year after its WHSmith rebrand, as part of a nationwide restructuring involving 150 outlets.
Kenilworth · TGJones · WHSmith · Shop closure · Local retail · Modella Capital
Kenilworth’s TGJones has officially closed, with its final day of trading on 26 September 2026. The closure comes just over a year after the former WHSmith shop changed its name and forms part of a nationwide restructuring involving 150 outlets under Modella Capital’s ownership.
TGJones Kenilworth closure details
The closure brings the shop’s operations in Kenilworth to an end. Nub News reported its official closure on 26 September, confirming that the final trading date had been reached rather than announcing a future departure.
For customers, the central detail is that the Kenilworth branch is now closed. The major discounts offered in the preceding weeks were part of the lead-up to that closure, not an ongoing offer at a continuing shop.
The checked information establishes the closing date, the earlier change of brand and the wider restructuring context. It does not set out what will happen to the premises next.
| Detail | Confirmed information |
|---|---|
| Shop | TGJones, Kenilworth |
| Previous brand | WHSmith |
| Rebranding date | July 2025 |
| Final trading day | 26 September 2026 |
| Owner | Modella Capital |
| Wider programme | Nationwide restructuring involving 150 outlets |
| Offers before closure | Major discounts in the preceding weeks |
| Future use of the premises | Not stated |
From WHSmith to TGJones
The Kenilworth shop was rebranded from WHSmith to TGJones in July 2025. Its closure in September 2026 therefore follows a little more than a year of trading under the newer name.
That sequence is important for readers who still associate the shop with WHSmith. The reported closure concerns the Kenilworth business that had already become TGJones, rather than a shop still trading under its previous branding.
The source describes a familiar retail presence in the town whose change of identity did not secure its continued operation in a competitive market. It provides no detailed account of how the Kenilworth branch performed during that period.
The confirmed sequence is:
- July 2025: the shop changed from WHSmith to TGJones.
- The weeks before closure: major discounts were offered.
- 26 September 2026: the shop reached its final trading day.
No earlier opening date is supplied, so the available information does not establish how long the premises had operated as WHSmith before the rebrand.
Nationwide restructuring under Modella Capital
The Kenilworth closure sits within a wider restructuring involving 150 outlets under the ownership of Modella Capital. It is therefore not presented in the source as an isolated change affecting only this branch.
There is an important distinction between the confirmed local closure and the scope of that national programme. The figure of 150 describes the outlets involved in restructuring. The supplied information does not say that all 150 have closed, or that they share Kenilworth’s final trading date.
Nor does it provide a list of the other locations involved, a timetable for the wider changes or the number of branches expected to remain open. The Kenilworth outcome is confirmed, but those broader details are not available here.
Although the summary places the shop’s inability to continue trading in a competitive market, it gives no branch-level sales figures, costs or detailed commercial explanation. The change of brand and the subsequent closure are established events; the evidence does not support a more specific account of the business decisions behind them.
Discounts preceded the final trading day
Major discounts were offered in the weeks before the shop closed. Those reductions were a visible part of the run-up to the final day and showed that preparations for closure were under way.
The source does not give discount percentages, identify particular products or state how much stock remained when trading ended. It also does not specify when the reductions first began beyond placing them in the weeks leading up to closure.
That limits what can be said about the sale. There is no basis in the checked information for listing individual bargains, describing every item as reduced or saying that all remaining stock was sold.
For anyone encountering an earlier report about the discounts, the timing matters: the sale preceded the confirmed closure on 26 September. The report is now about the end of trading, rather than an invitation to visit the shop for reduced goods.
What remains unconfirmed after closure
The available report confirms the end of TGJones’s operations in Kenilworth but does not include an announcement about the premises’ next use. No replacement retailer or reopening date is named.
It also provides no staffing figures or information about what the closure means for individual employees. Those details cannot be inferred from the size of the nationwide restructuring programme.
Practical information not supplied includes:
- Any future occupier of the premises.
- Arrangements affecting staff at the Kenilworth branch.
- Customer guidance on outstanding purchases or returns.
These are gaps in the available information, not confirmation that no arrangements exist. In particular, the absence of a named replacement does not establish how long the premises might remain without a trading business. The source gives no timetable for what follows the closure.
What this means for Kenilworth
The immediate local effect is the loss of a familiar shop. Customers who used the Kenilworth branch can no longer shop there, whether they knew it by its recent TGJones name or remembered it as WHSmith.
The closure also ends the local shop’s short period under the TGJones brand. For residents following the change from WHSmith in July 2025, the latest confirmed development is the end of trading rather than another rebrand.
The source does not identify alternative shops, changes to nearby services or a wider effect on Kenilworth’s retail trade. It would therefore be premature to describe how spending or shopping habits will change across the town.
For now, the practical position is limited but clear: TGJones has closed, its pre-closure discounts have passed, and the checked report supplies no confirmed next use for the premises.
Sources
- Nub News: Kenilworth's TGJones officially closes · 26 September 2026
Sources last checked 27 September 2026.
AI assisted with drafting and illustration. Sources were checked and publishing safeguards were applied by Kenilworth Vibes. Read our editorial policy.
More from Kenilworth Vibes
3 October 2026
Best solicitors in Kenilworth: a ratings-based shortlist
Compare five solicitors in Kenilworth using public Google ratings, review counts and directory details, with a clear explanation of how the shortlist is ranked.
2 October 2026
Reform UK councillors criticised over Warwickshire scrutiny absences
Reform UK portfolio holders have faced criticism after missing a Warwickshire County Council scrutiny meeting, leaving opposition councillors frustrated over unanswered questions.
2 October 2026
Consultation opens on 130 homes at former Kenilworth School site
Homes England is seeking residents’ views on plans for 130 homes at the former Kenilworth School site on Rouncil Lane, with feedback due by 16 October.
1 October 2026
Warwickshire school closures: council shares information for families
Warwickshire County Council has announced several school closures, but the supplied summary does not name the affected schools or confirm whether any are in Kenilworth.
1 October 2026
Warwick District motion seeks repayment of costs after council reshuffle paused
A motion due before Warwick District Council seeks government repayment of reshuffle costs and a financial review after legal challenges put the reorganisation on hold.
30 September 2026
Warwickshire council backs conduct training after heated civility debate
Warwickshire County Council has renewed its commitment to councillor conduct training after a debate on improving standards became two hours of heated exchanges.
29 September 2026
A46 fully reopens after car fire near Kenilworth
All lanes of the A46 have reopened after a car fire near Kenilworth, with earlier delays of up to 30 minutes cleared by around 3.30pm.
29 September 2026
Man denies sexual offences involving teenage girls at Kenilworth hotel
A 27-year-old man has denied allegations of sexual offences against two teenage girls at a Kenilworth hotel, with a five-day trial scheduled for August 2028.
